Buy 'Ill Communication'
Album Details:
Released:   1994

1. Sure Shot    
2. Tough Guy    
3. B-Boys Makin' With the Freak Freak    
4. Bobo on the Corner    
5. Root Down    
6. Sabotage    
7. Get It Together    
8. Sabrosa    
9. The Update    
10. Futterman's Rule    
11. Alright Hear This    
12. Eugene's Lament    
13. Flute Loop    
14. Do It    
15. Ricky's Theme    
16. Heart Attack Man    
17. The Scoop    
18. Shambala    
19. Bodhisattva Vow    
20. Transitions
ulti-cultural groove. The best moments of Ill Communication rank with the best music the Beasties have ever made, as well as the best pop music of the '90s, but unfortunately, it's uneven and rather front-loaded. The first half overflows with brilliant, imaginative variations on their aesthetic: the assured groove of "Sure Shot," the warped rap of "B-Boys Makin' With the Freak Freak," the relentless dirty funk of "Root Down," the monumental "Sabotage," and the sly "Get It Together," highlighted by a cameo from Q-Tip of A Tribe Called Quest. After that, the album seems to lose its sense of direction and momentum, even if individual moments are very good. Any record that can claim jams as funky and inventive as "Flute Loop" and "Do It," or instrumentals as breezy as "Ricky's Theme," is certainly better than its competition, but there are just enough moments that rank as obvious filler to slow its flow, and to keep it from standing proudly next to Check Your Head as a wholly successful record. Even if it is a little uneven, it still boasts more than its fair share of splendid, transcendent music, and it really only pales in comparison to the Beasties' trio of classic records. By any other measure, this is a near-masterpiece, and it is surely a highlight of '90s alternative pop/rock.
– Authored By Stephen Thomas Erlewine