Nick Matthews ACS Wins Milli Award for Australian Cinematographer of the Year at 2020 FUJINON FUJIFILM ACS National Awards

SYDNEY, 21 May 2020 – This year’s FUJINON FUJIFILM Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) National Awards was different. It wasn’t so much physically held but instead Zoomed as so many events have been this year. That said, many things remained the same with Ray Martin AM the host and MC and ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS as always very much on hand to help things along. When all was said and done Nick Matthews ACS won the Milli and was named Australian cinematographer of the year for his work on Hotel Mumbai. He also collected the Gold Tripod for features budgeted above $2 million.

Nick Matthews ACS

ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS said, “The National Awards is the pinnacle for the ACS members, and there is nothing better than the reward you receive by being recognised by your peers, it is without doubt, the best pat on the back you can receive. Heartiest congratulations to Nick Matthews and all the nominees and the recipients. As always our deepest thanks go to FUJINON FUJIFILM and all our ACS sponsors without whom the society wouldn’t be able to carry out the work it does.”

Ray Martin AM

Other winners on the night included Caleb Ware ACS who collected the documentaries award for By the River, Zoe White ACS won the drama series or telefeatures prize for The Handmaid’s Tale and Katie Milwright ACS who won the dramatised documentaries award for Guilty. In the features budgeted below $2 million category Joshua Flavell ACS received the Gold Tripod for Pimped and Chris Bland ACS got the award of distinction for Locusts.

ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS

Industry legends Dion Beebe ACS, Roger Lanser ACS and John Wheeler ACS were inducted into the Hall of Fame and Robb Shaw-Velzen ACS won the Ron Windon Award.

Robb Shaw-Velzen ACS

To view the full Zoomed 2020 FUJINON FUJIFILM ACS National Awards go to:

ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS concluded, “It is such a great thing for me to witness the ACS Awards at every level and see the looks on the faces of the various recipients. So rewarding, especially for me as the President of this august Society. We all look forward to the coming year and to holding next year’s awards in person again.”

The full list of winners at the 2020 FUJINON FUJIFILM Australian Cinematographers Society (ACS) National Awards are:


Gold certificate: David Szasz – Ship Out

Student Cinematography

Gold certificate: Michael Filocamo ACS – A Bird With No Legs

John Bowring ACS TV Station Breaks & Promos

Gold Tripod: Tony Luu ACS – The Voice promo

Music Videos

Gold Tripod: Kieran Fowler ACS – Guy Sebastian ‘Choir’

Syd Wood ACS Local & National News

Gold Tripod: Arron Hage ACS – Snowy Mountains fly fishing (Seven Network News)

Neil Davis International News

Gold Tripod: Joel Lawrence ACS – The Battle for Hong Kong

Current Affairs

Gold Tripod: Tom Bannigan ACS – Foreign Correspondent, The Oasis (ABC)

Entertainment & TV Magazine

Gold Tripod: Chris Lewis ACS – Burringurrah

Corporate & Educational

Gold Tripod: Lincoln Williams ACS – Evolve Skateboards


Gold Tripod: Caleb Ware ACS – By the River

Ron Taylor AM ACS Wildlife & Nature

Gold Tripod: Edward Salter ACS and Daniel Hunter ACS – Hostile Planet (Jungles: Bats vs Crocs)

Commercials – Local & Regional

Gold Tripod: Campbell Brown ACS – Running Bare

Commercials – National/International

Gold Tripod: Tim Tregoning ACS – Rural Fire Services – Have a Plan

Dramatised Documentaries

Gold Tripod: Katie Milwright ACS – Guilty

Short Films

Gold Tripod: Carl Robertson ACS – Ascendant

Serial TV & Comedy Series

AD: Judd Overton ACS – No Activity series 2 episode 8

Drama Series & Telefeatures

Gold Tripod: Zoe White ACS – The Handmaid’s Tale series 3, episode 11 – Liars

Feature films budgeted below $2 million

Gold Tripod: Joshua Flavell ACS – Pimped

Feature films budgeted above $2 million

Gold Tripod: Nick Matthews ACS – Hotel Mumbai

Ron Windon Award

Robb Shaw-Velzen ACS

Hall of Fame

Dion Beebe ACS, ASC
Roger Lanser ACS
John Wheeler ACS

Milli Award

Nick Matthews ACS – Hotel Mumbai

Picture credits:

Nick Matthews ACS

Ray Martin AM

ACS National President Ron Johanson OAM ACS

Robb Shaw-Velzen ACS