Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 9.42.51 am

MEDIA RELEASE: Monday November 17, 2014

Celebrate music at its finest when FOX8 broadcasts the world’s biggest fan-voted awards show, the AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS, live from LA’s Nokia Theatre on Monday, November 24 at 12.00pm EDT.

The AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS will once again feature a star-studded line-up of the music industry’s top artists and performances, while celebrating 42 years of AMA history and memorable moments.

Hosted by Pitbull, the evening will see an impressive list of artists performing including Taylor Swift, Selena Gomez, Garth Brooks, Lorde, Mary J. Blige, 5 Seconds of Summer, Iggy Azalea, Fergie, One Direction, Sam Smith, Charli XCX and Imagine Dragons.

Artists will be honoured in the genres of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative Rock, Adult Contemporary, Latin, Contemporary Inspirational, Electronic Dance Music, as well as categories for Top Soundtrack, New Artist of the Year, Artist of the Year, and Single of the Year.

Australia’s Iggy Azalea leads the pack with a total of six nominations. The Hot 100 chart-topping performer is up for artist of the year, new artist of the year, single of the year, favourite female artist – pop/rock, and she’s in the running for favourite artist and album in the rap/hip-hop categories.

Following close behind is John Legend, Katy Perry and Pharrell Williams with five nominations each, while Lorde is up for four awards.

This year’s line-up introduces a few changes. The artist of the year category grows from five to 10 nominees, with Iggy facing off against Beyoncé, Luke Bryan, Eminem, Imagine Dragons, John Legend, Lorde, One Direction, Katy Perry and Pharrell Williams for the award.

Meanwhile, the single of the year category grows from three to five nominees, including Azalea featuring Charli XCX’s “Fancy,” Legend’s “All of Me,” MAGIC!’s “Rude,” Katy Perry featuring Juicy J’s “Dark Horse” and Pharrell Williams’ “Happy.”

The 42nd ANNUAL AMERICAN MUSIC AWARDS will be broadcast live on FOX8 from 12.00pm EDT. There will be a special encore screening at 4.00pm on Channel [V].